Food is an integral part of every Disney vacation experience; that’s why at Special Mouse I’ve always placed such importance on discussing the needs of travelers with special dietary requirements. Today’s guest is Melissa Kramer from Vegan Disney World, a blog that serves up plenty of information on vegan dining options at Walt Disney World. (A vegan diet excludes all animal products and includes all grains, beans, legumes, vegetables and fruits.) Melissa runs the blog with her husband, Corey.
Walt Disney World has tons of options for vegans and vegetarians. We are here to keep an up-to-date log of what vegans can eat while visiting Walt Disney World resort in Orlando, Florida. Here you will find reviews, tips and just current news about food in Disney.
There’s also tons of mouth-watering photos of Vegan menu items, for those of you who are into “food porn!”
Like many previous guests on the show, Melissa had high praise for Chef TJ, who is famous for creatively catering to the needs of Walt Disney World diners with special diets or food allergies.
We even discussed Melissa & Corey’s vegan wedding reception at Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s Boardwalk! Their wedding cake was created by DTD Babycakes, NYC (now Erin McKenna’s Bakery, a gluten-free, vegan and Kosher bakery locate at Disney Springs).
Melissa and Corey love to answer reader questions such as this one: Are Dole Whips vegan?
“Yes,” says Melissa, “as long as you get the pineapple or orange flavor. The vanilla flavor is not vegan. You can find Dole Whips at both Aloha Isle in the Magic Kingdom and Pineapple Lanai at the Polynesian Resort. Additionally the Pineapple Whip Soft-Serve from Tamu Tamu in Animal Kingdom is vegan.”
Vegan AND yummy — what could be more special?
Thanks for listening!